Campanile opens a WGA soup kitchen

Grab

Striking has its benefits: On Wednesday, Campanile will launch Writers’ Soup Kitchen, an $18 prix fixe dinner menu. Campanile, of course, has been a favorite of WGA (and AMPTP) members since it opened two decades ago; even then, I don’t think Campanile offered three courses for $18.

And I quote:

“For 18 years, Campanile has enjoyed continuous loyalty and patronage of writers, executives, actors, and other participants within the television and film industry,” said Mark Peel, executive chef and owner of Campanile. “While we hope for an expeditious and equitable resolution to the strike, we feel compelled to offer our support for the writers during this challenging time and have created a special menu for current members of WGA that meets the high standards of Campanile, at a substantially reduced price. 

Beginning next Wednesday night, Campanile will launch its Writers Soup Kitchen menu: A three-course meal including the option of either vegetarian or non-vegetarian soup; a choice of one of three gourmet entrées; and a delectable dessert for a fixed price of $18.

Diners only need to present one WGA card per table to be eligible for the Writers Soup Kitchen menu.

For reservations or inquiries please call the Campanile front desk at 323-938-1447 or visit www.campanilerestaurant.com

6 Comments

Filed under Campanile

6 responses to “Campanile opens a WGA soup kitchen

  1. Michael Sonnenschein

    I think calling an $18 meal a ‘soup kitchen’ is obscenely glib. Nobody who has ever sat down at Campanile has any experience with the need, hunger and impoverishment of the people that real soup kitchens serve. Campanile should change the name of this offer.

  2. Molly Newman

    Oh please, why does there always have to be a weenie who finds fault with everything? Buy a sense of humor. It’s a lovely gesture from some lovely people. Get off your high horse with your “obscenely glib.” Once again, no good deed goes unpunished by the obscenely humorless.

  3. magazine writer

    I wonder if they’d be willing to offer me the same soup kitchen prices if I brought in my clips and a copy of my 2006 tax return. The very first contract I signed with a national magazine in 1989 was for $1 a word. The last story I turned in pays $1. (Still waiting for the check.)
    I made less $ last year writing for crappy regionals and women’s magazines than Redstone spends on his lunches or Jimmy Kimmel spends on pizza for his writers. Yes, I’m one of those people who orders a sandwich next door and gazes at the Campanile patrons enviously through the glass. The only way I can afford to eat there is if a PR person takes me.

  4. Michael Sonnenschein

    Molly, fine, maybe it just hits a nerve with me because I volunteer in soup kitchens around this time of year, so if being over-sensitive to people who are starving makes me a ‘weenie,’ I accept my weenie-ness. I like Campanile and I eat there sometimes, so it’s not like I’m getting on some sort of moral high horse in general.

  5. Hubris

    You’re not a weenie, Michael, and I thank you for making this point. I find zero humor in Campanile’s offer. This does nothing to help the cause of the WGA and further adds to the sense of outrage of those of us outside the “industry bubble” who see a profound difference between the writers’ strike (with churros served on silver platters and $280,000 worth of pencils sent just to make a point) and the grocery workers’ strike.
    Molly sounds like she’s the one who is obscene – she can continue to laugh with her starving friends at the prix fixe at Campanile while the rest of L.A. can eat cake with a smile and just learn to take a fucking joke, no matter if it is at their expense.

  6. Chris

    Give me a break. I don’t make a lot of money and I’ve been in the WGA for 6 months only, but this is a joke, take it as such (though a nice offer). Not to mention, if you don’t know this strike is about the affluent against the rich, then you’re even more in denial than you should be in this town.

Leave a Reply

